Distinguished Executive Award

The Distinguished Executive Award is a reflection of outstanding leadership and achievement in association management.  Distinguished Executives serve TSAE, contribute to other voluntary membership organizations and participate in civic and community affairs.  They exemplify the best in association management by continually bringing credit to the association management community. (Prior recipients are not eligible.)

Make a nomination


  • Chief Executive of a trade association or professional society.
  • Active member of TSAE for at least five years.
  • TSAE officers and nominating committee members are not eligible.


The Distinguished Executive of the Year is honored at the TSAE New Ideas Annual Conference..

Past Recipients

Award Year Recipient
1973 Don Epperson, CAE
1974 G.C. Morris, CAE
1975 James E. Taylor, CAE
1976 Allen C. Richey, CAE
1977 Terry Townsend, CAE
1978 Gene Fondren, CAE
1979 Ray Hurst, CAE
1980 C. Lincoln Williston, CAE 
1981 W.H. “Buckshot” Price, CAE
1982 Mickey Moore, CAE
1983 Jerre Hetherington, CAE
1984 Roy Vaughn, CAE
1985 Bill Gray
1986 Ben White, CAE
1987 Nolan Moore, CAE
1988 Jim Shillingburg, CAE
1989 John N. Kemp, CAE
1990 Luther R. Parker, CAE
1991 Walter B. Wainwright, CAE
1992 Robert A. Floyd, CAE
1993 Al Murfin, CAE
1994 Brad Duggan, CAE
1995 Wayne James, CAE
1996 Marilyn Monroe, CAE
1997 George B. Allen, CAE
1998 Eddy Edmondson
1999 Richard E. Jackson, Jr., CAE
2000 Steven Hacker, CAE
2001 Eve Becker-Doyle, CAE
2002 Tommy Townsend, CAE
2003 Christopher L. Williston, CAE
2004 Richard J. Bettis, CAE
2005 Nancy Jones, CAE
2006 William Wolters, CAE
2007 Marcie Funchess, CAE
2008 Lou Goodman, CAE
2009 Gwen Santiago, CAE
2010 Jim Boon, CAE
2011 Pam Donahoo, CAE
2012 Chuck Hempstead, CAE
2013 Leslie Midgley, CAE
2014 Pat Smith
2015 John Sharbaugh, CAE
2016 Tom Chapman, CAE
2017 David A. DuBois, CAE, CMP, CTA, FASAE
2018 Jeff Hall, CAE
2019 JJ Colburn, CAE
2020 Tracy Ginbsburg, Ed.D., CAE
2021 Theresa Parsons, CAE, CMP
2022 Linsae Snider

Our website uses cookies to improve usability and provide a customized experience. Full details of what cookies are, why we use them and how you can manage them can be found on our Site & Privacy Information page. Please note that by using this site, you are consenting to the use of cookies.